“Trigger Warning” by Karina Stow

“I don’t believe in lying to children

But when she asks me what’s wrong I still tell her the storybook version

I tell her that once a bad man broke into my home

I wish I’d also told her that bad men look like respectable young men

Trigger

That bad men will compliment your Nana on her lemon squares

Bad men write love poems

Trigger

Bad men smile so wide they will swallow you

And you, you will convince yourself you asked him to…”

 

“Trigger Warning” by Karina Stow (CUPSI 2015)

8 thoughts on ““Trigger Warning” by Karina Stow

  1. The sadness this makes me feel. My daughter was assaulted in my home. And it will take forever for that feeling to be gone. There’s something that will never be covered by paint or candles that will always be here. I’m sorry for you and your experience. It is not your fault and nothing you could have known or done is your fault. It is all the bad mans fault and his shame not yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the support, dear. I really appreciate it. Also, I am so sorry for your daughter. No one should have to endure what she has endured. I hope that she is able to find peace. And if you or she need anything, please do not hesitate to reach out. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. I have learned through my blogging tribe that it is something we will forever live with and survive through. It will always be there. My daughter is in a good place 3 years later. I however struggle and am fighting immensely right now. I’m not sure why but this is my current reality all the strength it took to be strong for so long has exhausted me.

        Like

      2. That’s normal. Feelings have a way of catching up to you eventually. And when they do, they all come at once. You can experience the most violent wave of emotion. Try your best to stay mindful (I know it can be so difficult sometimes). You can and will get through this. As you know, what happened will never go away, but you learn to live with it. Let your experience become a source of strength, rather than hindrance and pain.

        I’m really glad to hear that your daughter is in a good place right now. I am so happy for her. If you’re not already, I suggest that you look into therapy. Although what you’re feeling is normal, it is painful and not at all fair. You deserve to feel happy. You deserve to heal as much as your daughter does.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you. I have done therapy. Shortly after learning all the details of the second rape a year and a half later, she let me go. She said I was in a good place and I guess in comparison I was. I’m not at this moment. I had two therapist at the victims program place and the first moved out of town the second my husband went with me for a bit it was very difficult losing a therapist. I just never felt bonded to the second. I still email the first. She hasn’t responded for a while but it helps.

        Like

Leave a Reply

